Virtual Bourgeois

Just An Analog Guy Trying to Upgrade For a Digital World

Random 8

Posted by Gerald on June 2, 2007

My friend Virushead has tagged me with the Random 8 Blog Meme.

As I understand it, the way this works is that I am to post eight facts about myself and then I am to tag eight other people.  Since I am only finishing up week two of life on the blogosphere, I do not actually know eight other folks to tag, but I’ll work on it.

Here are my eight facts:

  1. I do not know how to swim.
  2. Despite being in my mid-40s, I still get together with old friends from college to play role-playing games.  The atmosphere at these games is less like geek central and more like when my parents used to play cards (“Canasta” I think?) with Dick Durham and his wife (whose name I’ve forgotten) when I was eight.
  3. I’ve consistently had more female than male friends during my life.  I’m not sure why, unless it is related to my general aversion to organized sports and rampant misogyny.
  4. I am a really big guy, but I am terrified of spiders.  Always have been.
  5. When I was a kid, I named one dog after another “Dasher.”
  6. I am never able to sleep well on Sunday nights – even if I do not have to go to work on Monday.
  7. The memory from my childhood that makes me feel safest and loved is remembering laying in the backseat of the car, looking up at the stars through the rear-view mirror, and listening to my father and mother singing “How Great Thou Art.” (They met in a Youth for Christ choir and could both sing beautifully.  I inherited my grandfather’s total inability to carry a tune.)
  8. I like bears and whales.  I don’t know why.

Here are the blogs I’ve tagged:

  1. My Beautiful Wickedness
  2. Semeiotikos
  3. Nards

I’ll finish my eight as I get to know more folks.

7 Responses to “Random 8”

  1. bridgett said

    It’s one of my non-blogging days (have to give my hands a rest or I get carpal tunnel-like numbness). I’ll do this early tomorrow and pass it on…thanks for thinking of me.

  2. Heidi said

    Reactions: I get the spider thing. I’m afraid of fire ants – climbed a hill one time and was swarmed.

    I have a similar travel memory, but it’ll sound so dated. Being driven at night, almost asleep on the back seat (we never wore seat belts), hearing Elton John’s “Tiny Dancer” on the radio while looking at those bridge lamplights against the stars. My mom would sing songs from “South Pacific” and my Dad would sing funny songs like “One day a Rooster Came into the Yard” or old country-westerns like “Cool Water.” He sounded a little like Johnny Cash.

    I love the name Dasher!

  3. brian t said

    “Meme”… is that like “Mime”, but with ideas? Richard Dawkins will be first up against the wall when the Evolution comes. 🙄

    PS: Hi.

  4. Gerald said

    Hi, Brian

    As I understand it, the term “meme” is associated with the theory that ideas are like viruses – they are created, they reproduce, are transmitted, and interact with other ideas to create new strains of ideas. I believe a “meme” is analogous to a “gene,” but as you say, with ideas.

  5. sskapica said

    Three things:
    1. I’ll get crackin’ on my eight soon (the wife would kill me if I decided to start on this while she’s cleaning for our get-together!).
    2. I am always a bit surprised when I hear someone (especially a friend) say he/she can’t swim. I guess I just assume that everyone can. I’ve spent so much time in and around the water over the years (jumping off the diving board at two; swim team at nine; lifeguard at fifteen; coach and instructor at seventeen) that it’s always hard to imagine not swimming. Here I thought I wasn’t going to teach this summer. Now it looks like I’m going to have to teach you how to swim!
    3. You want to talk random car memory: For some reason, I distinctly remember flipping through a French version of a “Clifford the Big Red Dog” in the back of my father’s station wagon on the way back from… had to have been Canada (hence the French). God I loved that dog– even in French.

  6. brian t said

    O, I know what a Meme is – it’s from Dawkins’ “Selfish Gene”. I was just being facetious… 8)

  7. Gerald said

    Sorry… but thanks for the reference! I never knew where the term originated.

Leave a Reply

 
