Virtual Bourgeois

Just An Analog Guy Trying to Upgrade For a Digital World

Slow Monday

Posted by Gerald on June 4, 2007

I think I may have a mild hang-over.

Yesterday I went to a party in Greensboro at the house of my friends Steve and Mandy.  Steve is a home brewer, as well as an excellent cook, and I went over a bit early to led minor assistance to the brewing process.  Outside of chatting with Steve, which I always enjoy (he is the only person I know who was as hurt by the cancellation of Fireflyas I was) I also learned a bit about beer.  Between helping to finish off a previous batch of home-brew and then drinking several over the course of the afternoon and evening, I probably drank more beer yesterday than I have in a one-day period since a particular evening at a bar called “Gabe’s Oasis” in Iowa City several years back.  I just don’t drink very much.  I’ve been feeling a bit slow and groggy all day, but it wasn’t until seeing Steve at the office that I considered there might be a beer link.

I am fortunate to have had a lot of very skilled friends.  Steve, as I mentioned, is a great cook and a home brewer, among other things.  My friends Donnell and Lori are skilled folks and were kind enough to come install a faucet for me (“If you need the job done right, call a Lesbian!” – Words to live by.)  My friend Bridgett from grad school has discussed her skills in her blog.  She is handy and she bakes and cooks.  My friends Richard and June are handy folks as well.  Even my old friend Tom – my first roommate in college – was good with tools.  He builds unbelievable reproductions of medieval armor from museums.  He also makes castings, he builds furniture, etc…  My dad was good with cars and taught himself electronics and plumbing.  He was learning computers when he died.

I, on the other hand, am a total loss.  I’ve never had a feel for tools, although I did a lot of work with my dad when I was a kid.  I really and truly despise gardening and lawn-work.  I’ve inherited my mother’s “black thumb.”  The only plant I cannot kill is the one I want to.  It is possible I could become a cook.  I have made a few things other people have liked, but I’ve never caught that bug.  I’ve got my strengths, but I don’t really make anything.  I hope that what I can contribute is enough.

If there is any point to this, it is that I’d like people to know that my friends are really amazing people, and I am humbled by them.

4 Responses to “Slow Monday”

  1. bridgett said

    Being a good friend is a rare talent that you have in spades. Don’t sell yourself short.

  2. Gerald said

    Thanks, that is very kind. I didn’t mean to suggest that I was feeling down on myself, just that I have been blessed to have a lot of very talented friends, like you.

  3. Steve said

    Turnabout is fair play.

    I must admit that my “craftiness” is something that, on some level, befuddles me. Somewhere down the line, I got the bug. Actually, it was probably always there. That need to create things (though my mother would say that this inclination began with an even stronger desire to BREAK things). My brother is kind of the same way (though he never FINISHES anything!). For that matter, my mother is, too.

    My father, however, was most definitely NOT that way. In the process of getting the house ready to sell after he died, I had the pleasure of dismantling a closet he had built by the back door. It was mammoth thing built of two by fours and railroad spikes (er, big ass nails). The things my father made were utilitarian. That was it. And he had no passion for it. Well, unless you count the time he smashed the mailbox with a sledge hammer because he couldn’t get it to sit right…

    And yet, I have never– I mean, never– met a single person who disliked my father. He was not an extrovert, but he was well-liked and could talk to anyone, anywhere, about anything. He valued family and friends above all else in this world. And he was an excellent teacher (if not always a patient one…!).

    Now that I think about it… He was also quite a history buff. I used to joke about the fact that our house was the only house where you’d find a copy of the “Rise and Fall of the Third Reich” in the bathroom. He always wished he could have been a history teacher…

    Yeah, I don’t think I need to say anything more about where I’m going with this right?

  4. Gerald said

    No, but thank you.

Leave a Reply

 
