Virtual Bourgeois

Just An Analog Guy Trying to Upgrade For a Digital World

Gettin’ My Geek On…

Posted by Gerald on June 9, 2007

It is another weekend, and I am gettin’ my geek on!

For the last several years, my Friday nights have been reserved for the SciFi Channel’s various line-ups of original shows (well, if I have someplace to go I just record them – “Bless the DVR, Bless its comings and its goings”).  I am an unapologetic fan of science fiction.  No one has yet proven to me the objective superiority of several hours out of my life to watch someone else play a game versus taking hours out of my life to watch TV shows or movies featuring spaceships and people wearing latex foreheads. 

Since moving Battlestar Galactica to Sundays, the Friday night line-up has been dominated by the Stargates (“SG-1” and “Atlantis”).  This may offend some of the more hard-core fans out there, but I am not going to try to make any huge claims as to the artistic merits of these shows.  I like them.  I also like Pizza Hut’s pizza, but I’m not claiming it as fine cuisine.  I think I like what most of the fans do.  They are well-paced, have likeable characters, the dialog is smart and funny, and every now and then they manage a moment or two when you feel something about what is going on.  They are also basically optimistic shows.  Given my general cynicism about the human condition, but my real wish that things could be better, a little optimism is refreshing.  SG-1 is just about to wrap up its very long run.  I’m going to be sorry to see some of the characters go, but not really the series.  While the show still shows some of what made it fun to watch, it has gotten a little tired.  I’m happy enough that they are ending things while I still like the show rather than doing what the X-Files did and run at least three seasons too long.

The remaining entry this season has been a new show called “Painkiller Jane,” which is based on a comic book I’ve never seen.  A couple of years ago, SciFi showed a “Painkiller Jane” movie that I kind of liked.  The TV show is different and I cannot say I’ve warmed to it.  Kristanna Loken plays Jane, a member of a unit that hunts down people with weird abilities and who, for some reason, has the ability to heal from just about any injury (see Wolverine from X-Men, “the Cheerleader” from Heroes, etc… – not exactly original.)  I do not know if it is the material or the actress, but the only emotion this character has provoked in me is a moment of lust during a scene where she was dancing around her bathroom in her sports bra – and even that wasn’t a very intense lust, more pro forma. 

That’s okay, though.  I’m getting old and by 10 pm, if I’m home, I’m usually ready to just turn on some music and read awhile before going to bed. 

Leave a Reply

 
