Virtual Bourgeois

Just An Analog Guy Trying to Upgrade For a Digital World

Lost Day

Posted by Gerald on June 10, 2007

This has been a very lazy Sunday for me.  Outside of scanning some news and blogs, and posting a couple of comments, the biggest accomplishment of the day so far has been watching The Prestige on DVD.  This is a film made by Christopher Nolan, who did Batman Begins and stars two actors from that film, Christian Bale and Michael Caine.  It also stars Hugh Jackman and a good supporting cast headed by Scarlett Johansson and Piper Perabo.  It is a cool story concerning the rivalry between two stage magicians at the end of the 19th century.  Their rivalry grows to include Nikola Tesla (played by David Bowie).  It is really more of a movie about lies and truth.  I’m afraid that more discerning viewer will predict the big reveals before they happen, but it is still a worthwhile film if you haven’t seen it yet.

Tonight I’ll be watching the finales of two series I’ve really enjoyed.  First, of course, is The Sopranos.  I’m not going to make any sort of predictions about this.  David Chase has said repeatedly he is not interested in telling a morality tale.  Also, the thing that has always made this show superior is that the writers take turns that are true to the characters rather than what is expected in television.  I’m satisfied to just wait to see what they’ve got.  My only concern is that this has been so hyped that for many people no possible ending could equal the expectations.

The other show on tap for tonight is The Tudors.  Here, I have no doubts about how the story comes out, or if I did I would really need to stop being a history instructor for a living.  I’ve enjoyed the show overall, but I do have some quibbles.  I think that the heart of the human drama of the story of Henry VIII and the divorce is the conflict of needs that drove everyone involved.  The show has done a good job of showing some of this, but not all.  In particular I do not think it has really conveyed the urgency of Henry’s need for a son.  This isn’t just the desire for male offspring, this was a political necessity.  Not just Henry, but everyone concerned with the political settlement created with the Tudor ascension to the throne wanted that boy.  Now the show shouldn’t be a documentary, but it has already devoted a fair amount of time to diplomatic matters.  I think that having spent some time on the domestic political scene (beyond one-upmanship at court) would have ADDED to the human drama involved.

Still, I am looking forward to seeing how they portray what is bound to happen during tonight’s finale and I hope we get to see another season of it.

Well, back to listening to Fairport Convention and reading the next Jim Butcher novel.

2 Responses to “Lost Day”

  1. bridgett said

    I’ve never seen any of the shows you talked about. My sole exposure to The Tudors was ogling the guy who plays Henry when he was on some poster. He has the cruel look about him that is true to the Tudor line…my students think he’s hot, so I guess they got that right.

    Never have seen so much as a frame of the Sopranos. I guess that’s not surprising, given my dislike of televised violence and lack of cable.

  2. Gerald said

    I cannot say I am shocked…

    Let me take a moment to suggest something else to you. You really should rent or borrow the DVDs for “Deadwood.” I know you aren’t a TV person, but this show is a wonderful study of a western boomtown, including its politics. The writers did a great job of blending the wordy formality of 19th century letters with more “earthy” phrases. Almost every character in it is based on real people who were in Deadwood at the time (from Wild Bill Hicock to George Hearst.)

    As someone who saw you laughing at the scene in “Unforgiven” where the posse is arguing about who is going to pay for the dogs and the ammo, I really think you would love this. It is good drama AND good history.

Leave a Reply

 
