Virtual Bourgeois

Just An Analog Guy Trying to Upgrade For a Digital World

Mission: Impossible

Posted by Gerald on July 12, 2007

Because I’ve read my eyes out today grading many essays, I’m indulging in a TV evening (… and, of course, blogging – because it is like crack and I CAN’T HELP MYSELF!!!)

I’m watching a DVD of episodes from the second season of Mission: Impossible.  I loved this show when I was a kid and unlike some other shows I’ve watched as an adult, I still love this.  Yes, it is dated.  Yes, it is unapologetic-ally pro-American.  Yes, it is sexist as hell.  Yes, the whole idea of the government doing things they won’t own up to in public is one of the biggest problems we have today (George, it was just a TV show!)

Still.

Those cool, intricate plans, the nifty disguises, the cool gizmos,  I just love it!  Everybody smoking and drinking cocktails.  All the guys are always wearing really cool suits (have you noticed that men’s suits right now kind of look like they did in the mid 1960s?)  Also, for 1967 it had to be a big deal that the tech guy and general science whiz on the team was black.

You gotta take joy in the little things. 

3 Responses to “Mission: Impossible”

  1. bridgett said

    It was on too late for me to watch it, though I saw it in reruns. I also enjoyed The Wild West, though not crazy about the movie version.

  2. Gerald said

    Oh, I saw that in reruns too. I think we were both about five when this was on. “The Wild, Wild West” was cool too.

  3. imfunny2 said

    I have this uncle that has the height and attitude problem of Robert Conrad, the original James West…when I was 7 I thought my uncle was sneaking away and doing television on the side…

Leave a Reply

 
