Virtual Bourgeois

Just An Analog Guy Trying to Upgrade For a Digital World

Moving in Place

Posted by Gerald on July 16, 2007

I had one of those days today where I feel like I’ve been busy, but I haven’t really gotten a lot of work done.  I cannot really blame anyone but myself, but I’m also not feeling incredibly guilty.  This was a day where I spent a lot of time talking to various people about things that may bear fruit later.

I had a meeting this morning with the president of our college.  Now going into the meeting, I had no idea what was on the agenda, so when I saw my department chair I asked her if I was going to be fired.  Now, I didn’t really think I was going to be fired and even if I was this would seem to be a bit below the president’s job threshold – but you never know.  Actually, it turns out that this was meeting Monday –  lots of people had meetings with administration people.  Still, I was the only one going to see the capo di tutti capi (my Italian is entirely derived from gangster films, so I may be wrong about the phrase and I don’t care.)

Even after two years, I still wonder every time I see the “All Faculty & Staff” e-mails announcing new positions if I am going to open it up and see my own job being advertised.  I also had a sneaking suspicion the entire time I was at the University of Iowa that the director of grad studies would call me into the office one day to tell me they had changed their minds and I had to re-take my doctoral comps.  I realized earlier this afternoon that after two years, I still haven’t put my diplomas up on the wall of my office – but that probably is due to laziness as opposed to insecurity.

Of course, the meeting had no dire overtones at all.  The president wanted to make sure I was filled in on a new on-campus program and on some changes that are coming in our organization.  I was getting this information because the fall semester will see the beginning of my one-year term as president of the Faculty Senate – a job into which I was tricked by a scheming friend upon whom I shall one day wreak my vengeance despite her feeble protestations of innocence.  Oh, yes!  I shall!  Vengeance will be…

Ummm… where was I?

Oh, yeah, the meeting.

Well, it was no big deal.  I just need to add some things to the early agenda for the Senate this fall.  This also reminded me of other things I had promised myself I’d have ready for the new semester – like a draft of a new constitution.  I haven’t even gotten started, but hey, I’ve still got most of a month.

The rest of the morning was consumed by some comparisons of what went on in every one’s respective meetings.  Then there was lunch, which is always a big part of the academic working day, but never more so than during the summer.  Then I got back from lunch and spent some more time doing morning meeting post-mortems combined with speculation about other things to come next year.  Finally, I actually returned to my own office and got everything ready so I can jump straight into my grading tomorrow morning without spending any time moving files to appropriate places, or downloading anything.

Another day.

It is a heckuva lot better than any other job I’ve ever had.

BTW: There is going to be a special on the Science Channel tonight at 9pm eastern about the discovery of Hatshepsut’s mummy.  It looks potentially cool.

Leave a Reply

 
