Virtual Bourgeois

Just An Analog Guy Trying to Upgrade For a Digital World

Being Responsible

Posted by Gerald on July 31, 2007

I made it in to the office today.  I was a bit later than I had intended, but I spent the morning getting all the bills paid that I could (today is payday and since I have automatic deposit my money appears in my account at around midnight – go to bed broke and wake up flush).  All in all, I’m having a very responsible day.  I went out to lunch with three of my colleagues in the Social Science department, including my new fellow history teacher.  She is going to fit in with our weird little family just fine.  The new joke is that I have a “harem” now since I am the only man left in the department – a joke I am careful NOT to make.  I wonder if women make up a larger percentage of community college faculties than they do university faculties?  Maybe a reflection of the gender disparaties between elementary and secondary education?  Certainly there is a preponderance of women on the faculty here – not just in my department.

Today I’m working on some fairly radical changes to how I’ve taught my western civ courses over the last few years, and I am drafting lesson plans to reflect them.  At the same time, I’m also trying to draft a new constitution for our Faculty Senate.  I am trying to decide whether I should try to float the idea of some sort of “faculty association fee” that might give the Senate some money to use for social stuff and to help finance the honors program here – one of my other present concerns.  The study of history has taught me many things, but at the top of the list are a) the power of humans to engage in self-serving rationalization is staggering (not significant here, but it is the greatest truth I’ve discovered in studying history) and b) no one EVER likes paying taxes (much more to the point).  There are other things I’ve learned, but I’d put these as my top two.  Having a budget would be cool.  Getting royally reamed for daring suggest it would not be cool.  I’m on the fence, but I need to crawl off in the next couple of weeks.

All of this means I’m doing a lot of coffee sipping and making notes on a legal pad while listening to The Decemberists.  I’m not sure if any of this qualifies as progress, but at least I’m working.

Which is good, right?

Leave a Reply

 
