Virtual Bourgeois

Just An Analog Guy Trying to Upgrade For a Digital World

A Moment’s Cool Air

Posted by Gerald on August 21, 2007

I’ve been having a bit of a dry spell with my blogging the last couple of weeks.  A lot of that has been due to the heat.  I generally do not complain about weather, since it so pointless, but this has become really demoralizing.  We have had highs above 96 just about every day for the last couple of weeks.  Today both Raleigh and Charlotte saw temperatures over 100.

Right at the moment though it is in the 70s – in the aftermath of the thunderstorms that tore through here in the afternoon.  Tomorrow we are back in the mid-90s and we won’t be getting down to about 90 until Sunday – maybe.

I remember feeling like this during winters back in Iowa.  There was a point somewhere around late January or February when the cold seemed like a living thing that was sapping my life.  All I wanted was for the temperatures to climb back up into the 20s.  The teens and single digits seemed to be an order of magnitude worse than the 20s.  I’ve felt the same way these last two weeks.  The heat is always there.  These temperatures in the upper 90s and over 100 feel so much worse than the 88 to 90 degree days we usually have this time of year.  I can feel it even when I’m inside.  The same as those deep winters in Iowa seemed to seep into me even if I was indoors.

I can see it in the students too.  That beginning of the semester buzz is completely missing from the campus this time.  Everyone seems listless.  The student activities people had tents with refreshments and speakers blaring music on the quad during the first few days but no one was taking part.  The student center is comparatively empty as are the halls of our building – and our division’s enrollment is UP 26% over last year.  I think people are blowing in for their classes and immediately dashing for home.

But for just a little while tonight it is in the 70s (although incredibly humid).  That tension I’ve felt for two weeks has eased.  I’m going to bed in the hope that I’ll have a better night’s sleep tonight.

Back to the heat in the morning.

One Response to “A Moment’s Cool Air”

  1. bridgett said

    I posted a bit about an article featuring Deidre. She’s looking well…

    We have been cool and overcast for the last several days. Tomorrow should be back in the 80s and sunny — since I failed to bake during the cool spell and we’re out of bread.

Leave a Reply

 
