Virtual Bourgeois

Just An Analog Guy Trying to Upgrade For a Digital World

Bad News

Posted by Gerald on August 24, 2007

Last summer a friend of mine had a lump removed from his leg.  It was a soft-tissue sarcoma.  He had survived a childhood bout with cancer and knew this sort of thing developing was a possibility.  He caught it early and they treated it aggressively.  We all thought that he had dodged the bullet.

A couple weeks ago a follow-up exam discovered a spot in his lung.

It is common for the sort of cancer he manifested last year to jump to the lungs and when it does so the prognosis usually isn’t very good.  He is going in for surgery soon.  They are going to removed 20-25% of the affected lobe of his lung.  We are all hoping for the best.

But damn.

None of what follows is rational.  He is as sweet a guy as you would care to meet.  He is the only person I know who has watched as much crappy TV as I have and has enjoyed it as much.  We’ve built a friendship out of both being such avid members of the TV generation.  I don’t want to lose that friendship and I can’t do a single thing about it.  A mutual friend compared this to feeling like Lt. Dan in Forest Gump during the hurricane scene.  Yeah.  I know so many people – I’m related to so many people – who smoked like chimney’s their entire lives and walked away scott-free – and THIS MAN has lung cancer!?!  You have GOT to be fucking kidding me!

I know – life isn’t fair, bad things happen to good people, control is an illusion, all I can do is accept things and try to be supportive.

But this sucks.

2 Responses to “Bad News”

  1. imfunny2 said

    I’m so sorry to hear about your friend…and yes, those of us with a love of crappy TV are few and far between….

    As a cancer survivor myself, I have seen things beaten once, twice, thrice… I have hope for your friend because he’s had it once already and knows the drill.

    Best thoughts to him, and to you.

    Jean aka imfunny2

  2. Gerald said

    Thanks. Despite the downside I really am hoping for the best. He caught this as early as it could be caught and they are acting quickly and aggressively. Hopefully it will turn out well.

Leave a Reply

 
