Virtual Bourgeois

Just An Analog Guy Trying to Upgrade For a Digital World

Does Anyone See a Pattern?

Posted by Gerald on August 28, 2007

So Lt. Col. Jordan isn’t guilty for what happened at Abu Ghraib because, although he was in command of the interrogation center, he couldn’t control what happened there.  I guess I do not understand the meaning of “in command.”  Too much Star Trek I guess (“I’m responsible for everything done on my ship!”)

But he is guilty of TALKING about what happened there.  THAT is what he did wrong.

Meanwhile Michael Vick has pleaded guilty over the dog-fighting conspiracy charges, but what the NFL is REALLY worried about isn’t the brutal abuse of helpless animals, but that he might have bet on the outcome.  THAT is what he did wrong.

I’m confused.

3 Responses to “Does Anyone See a Pattern?”

  1. imfunny2 said

    Oh, pfft.

    I’ve given up.

    The definition of “responsibility” “right” or “wrong” are elastic now.

  2. […] August 29th, 2007 at 8:05 pm (Humor) this post… […]

  3. Heidi said

    What bothers me is that people get revved up about cruelty to animals, but not so much about American policies of torturing people. I saw a comic strip about this – it was suggested that maybe we should put dogs in the cells…

Leave a Reply

 
