Virtual Bourgeois

Just An Analog Guy Trying to Upgrade For a Digital World

Long Time No Blog

Posted by Gerald on October 5, 2007

I’ve been really busy and sleep-deprived this week.  Hence no blog posts.

On Sunday one of my colleagues hosted a party for our department chair who got married back in August.  Much wine and beer were consumed and many laughs were had because we are a happy little band of social science instructors.  Unfortunately this set up a kind of domino effect for the rest of my week.  I had to be in for my 8 am class the next morning and I didn’t really get caught back up on sleep until today.

I’ve also been a bit worried this week.  I mentioned in an earlier post that a friend of mine was dealing – again – with cancer.  He went into surgery yesterday.  Happily everything went well, but now we are all just waiting on the results of the biopsy.  Indirectly this meant that I’ve been a bit distracted and depressed this week.  Directly this has also meant that my rather busy teaching schedule just got busier.  My friend teaches several courses including an intro to film class.  He brings in lots of people for his discussions and I’ve been a frequent guest so I could provide some historical context for certain films.  I’m also a movie buff.  Because of all of this I am working with another friend and colleague to cover this course.  I’m happy to do it, but it is four more hours out of my schedule each week.

This weekend is going to be filled with grading, although I am going to visit my friend in the hospital at some point.  We will hit the mid-point in the semester next Tuesday.  My two eight-week classes will finish then.  Wednesday marks the beginning of our Fall Break.  I think if I work all the way through it I will be caught back up in time for when my new eight-week classes start the following Monday.

I also found out I’m on something called the “Long-Range Planning Committee” this week.  That just sounds ominously open-ended to me.

I realized this week that I haven’t read a single piece of fiction (unless you count student essays *rimshot*) in two months.

No news on the dating front.  You would almost think that overweight middle-aged guys weren’t in high demand or something.

I might hold forth sometime this weekend on the new TV season.  Depends on how the grading goes.

As to my usual political stuff: Bush sucks, Putin is dangerous, we ought to get out of Iraq and not get into Iran, insert mandatory anti-GOP Larry Craig joke here, the Dems are wimps, yadda-yadda, blah-blah, woof-woof…

One Response to “Long Time No Blog”

  1. Dear Gerald said

    I really liked your article on being a community history teacher. My own experience reads like a reversal of yours. I come from a working class family, left school to work in a shop with little education aged 16. Aged 20 I returned to education part time and have just completed an MPhil in the history of design at the Royal college of Art, London. All the while I have continued to work in community education and for the last five years have been managed a community education programme for the Victoria and Albert Museum, London. I also love it and would not change a thing! Keep on rocking! Best wishes from London, Laura

Leave a Reply

 
