Virtual Bourgeois

Just An Analog Guy Trying to Upgrade For a Digital World

The Difference Between Being at Work and Working

Posted by Gerald on November 13, 2007

I’m having a horribly unproductive day so far.

I taught my 8 am class and all was well, but since then my focus has wandered from what I really should be doing.  I did go over and buy stuff from the History Club kids (almost all of the members are from the Early College and hence are between 15 and 17).  They were selling hot chocolate and danish to raise money for next weekend’s trip to the Renaissance Faire (yes, I know, but they are excited about it.)  Since most of them are underage I’m going to be accompanying them.

I’ve also been making plans this morning to go to the American Historical Association conference in Washington D.C. in January.  I’m doing this a bit late, but there is still a chance i might get some money from our professional development funds to help cover it.  There are some sessions dealing with teaching and with on-line instruction that look like they might be useful.  This will mean I have to miss the last minute registration rush and the Spring semester opening session.  Gee, golly, darnit, and other protestations …

Tonight I have to represent the Senate at the Board of Trustees meeting.  I’m hoping that this time the meeting won’t run exceptionally long the way the others I’ve attended have.  At least I’ll get a pretty good free dinner out of it.

2 Responses to “The Difference Between Being at Work and Working”

  1. bridgett said

    Hey, John and I will be at the AHA! (Actually, the Whole Damn Family…including maybe even my mom…)

    I’ll look forward to seeing you there.

  2. Gerald said

    Cool! Now that I’ve looked I see where you guys are mentioned in the program. See you there!

Leave a Reply

 
