Virtual Bourgeois

Just An Analog Guy Trying to Upgrade For a Digital World

Happy (non-specific) Holidays

Posted by Gerald on December 20, 2007

I turned in the last of my grades yesterday and spent today getting things ready for Spring Semester.  This was our last workday, so I am off until January 2.  I’ve set my “Out-of-Office” auto-reply on my work e-mail and I am gone!

One of the things I like the most about my profession is the annual cycle of beginning and completion that goes with the semesters.  I’ve worked a job where it was just go in, do the work, go home, come back tomorrow and do it again.  This suits me much better and I know how lucky I am to have it.

I’ve mentioned in earlier posts that this was a very intensive semester for me.  What I may not have mentioned is that this exceptional level of activity has extended to my social life.  For years I have spent most weekends alone except for dinners with my old college-era friends in Winston Salem.  These last few months I’ve been going to dinner with newer friends, engaging in a semi-regular movie night during the week, and I’ve even dated for the first time in a long time.  I’ve discovered that I do not need as much “alone time” as I thought I did a few months back.  Here’s hoping I’m not going to get more in the near future.

Certainly this holiday season is shaping up to be the busiest I’ve had in years.  I’ve got different things going on for the next three nights and I’m going to have Christmas dinner with my old friends.  I’ve also got a nebulous plan to go see “I Am Legend” sometime over the break.  With all of that I think I’m going to enjoy those few days when I’m not busy.

I’ll probably post over the holidays, but if you don’t get a chance to read them please accept my best wishes for a safe and joyous season.

Leave a Reply

 
