Virtual Bourgeois

Just An Analog Guy Trying to Upgrade For a Digital World

A Christmas Eve Visitor

Posted by Gerald on December 24, 2007

When I woke up this morning my first impression was that my bed felt nice and toasty warm.  My second thought was that the reason it seemed so warm was that the room was so cold.

No heat.

Some quick checks demonstrated that the power was on but the furnace was out.  I started calling and leaving messages because everybody’s offices were closed.  I finally got a call back and by about 1 pm my heat was working again.

My visit from the furnace guy got me thinking.  I could easily feel annoyed about the heat going out, and I did, but I’m really feeling fortunate.  First it is nice that my finances are such that having to pay for this is an inconvenience, but I’m not having to figure out which bill won’t get paid next month because of it.  Second, I’m grateful that this guy told me about the cheaper way of fixing the problem rather than just sticking me with the more expensive one.  Third, I’m grateful that there was someone working who would come and fix this for me – that cannot be fun.  Also, I’ve got a roof and I’ve got heat – many don’t.

I know this is a cliche, but I am feeling very grateful tonight for what I have.

I’d also like to ask that we all take a moment to remember all of those folks who are going to be on duty tonight and tomorrow – military, cops, firefighters, even those on-call repair people.

Oh, and a big thank you to the members of Congress who have been keeping the session going so Dubya can’t pull another John Bolton.

Happy Holidays!

2 Responses to “A Christmas Eve Visitor”

  1. Steve said

    Glad to hear you weathered the holiday “heat wave”! We haven’t been doing so well: Mandy’s root canal recovery took a serious turn for the worse on Saturday and we ended up in the hospital (they gave her a 40 min. antibiotic IV to stop the spread of infection). It’s been a slow recovery… She, however, has been a champ– and hopes to be able to salvage the latter part of her vacation. Hope to give you a call and get you out to the house soon…

  2. bridgett said

    Something for the geeks and peeps…if you’re still in touch with Glenn, he’d probably think this was amusing too.

Leave a Reply

 
