Virtual Bourgeois

Just An Analog Guy Trying to Upgrade For a Digital World

Hebrews and Greeks and Romans, Oh My!!!

Posted by Gerald on January 15, 2008

Another semester begins and I am teaching two sections of Western Civ I, thus another session of Hebrews, Greeks, and Romans.  I’m also teaching three sections of Western Civ II and my annual History of Africa course.  Things have started well and one of my Western Civ II sections is already pretty lively.  One of my social science colleagues is taking my History of Africa class and it is hard to tell which of us is more intimidated and uncomfortable with this.  Today I graded her response to a discussion about a couple of articles and on Thursday I’m going over to have dinner and watch “3:10 to Yuma” with her and her husband at their house.  Still, it will all work out.

We are in the process of hiring a new vice-president for the college.  The first candidate came today.  I’m not on the hiring committee, so I have no privileged information and hence cannot spill any.  We have someone coming tomorrow who is causing a bit of a stir.  This person was closely involved in a situation a few years back where a writing instructor was dismissed after having criticized the Iraq War in class.  There is a lot of concern and even some anger developing here.  I’m intending on asking him some questions during the period when faculty are allowed to drop by and talk.  We’ll see.  We are having the first Faculty Senate meeting of the new semester on Friday and I expect this is going to become an issue there as well.

So classes are doing well but we’ve got some drama to heat things up in our (for down here) winter freeze.

2 Responses to “Hebrews and Greeks and Romans, Oh My!!!”

  1. bridgett said

    Man, I’m feeling like a total slackerpants. I have the fewest students I have had since 1998, when I was on phased maternity leave at Iowa and they were afraid that I’d give birth in front of the class. I have a lot of committee work, but that’s a different kind of labor than teaching and grading and grading some more.

    Yes, I am weirded out when my colleagues take my classes or even review my classes.

  2. imfunny2 said

    From a total outsider….what,what,what???…an instructor somewhere was fired for criticising the war in Iraq….

    Okay…

    Bleah.

Leave a Reply

 
