Virtual Bourgeois

Just An Analog Guy Trying to Upgrade For a Digital World

Go Guys I Don’t Like, Go!!!

Posted by Gerald on February 5, 2008

Is anyone else out there among the liberals really pulling for a Romney or Huckabee victory tonight?  I can see McCain beating either Obama or Clinton in the national election because of his popularity among independents, but I can’t really see the same happening for either Romney or Huckabee.

My nightmare for the election at this point:

McCain continues to pull ahead in the GOP race despite the ongoing hatred of the Christian right.

Obama and Clinton continue the way they are.  Everyone seem to forget the the dems use proportional representation for the convention.  It doesn’t matter who wins states, it matters what the margins are.

With no clear victor and edwards still hoarding his delegates the democratic convention turns into a vicious floor fight.

Meanwhile, with their standard organization and discipline the GOP falls in line behind McCain.  the loss of disgruntled Christian conservatives is more than made up for by the right-leaning independents who have always loved the Senator.

As the national election begins the Democrats are fatally divided (I keep remembering the GOP in 1976 after Reagan vs. Ford) while the Republicans unite behind McCain.

Mind you, McCain doesn’t scare me as much as the other GOP guys do but at the end of the day he is a Republican.  When the heat is on he is going to move toward his base on the right and I believe what we need around here is a whole lot more left.

4 Responses to “Go Guys I Don’t Like, Go!!!”

  1. imfunny2 said

    Jean here Gerald…yes, I’ve been hoping that Rommney/Huckabee *do* manage some sort of coalition, because well, I believe it will be easier for anyone with a (D) behind their name to best Romney in the general

  2. Leslie said

    This reminds me of the internal debates I had back when only the Republican Party would allow unaffiliated NC voters to vote in their primary. I’d have to decide whether I wanted to cast my ballot for the person I’d actually be most comfortable having as a President or the person I’d be most comfortable having RUNNING for President in the general election. Thinking that way made me so squeamish I was about to break down and affiliate when the system finally changed.

  3. Gerald said

    I never really dealt with that because of the secret shame of my youth:

    I was a teenaged Conservative.

    The shame… (head hangs low)

    Then I went to college and the liberal academics there warped my mind by getting me to think and concern myself with evidence.

  4. bridgett said

    As they say, facts have a well-known liberal bias.

Leave a Reply

 
