Virtual Bourgeois

Just An Analog Guy Trying to Upgrade For a Digital World

Lunchtime

Posted by Gerald on February 5, 2008

I’ve got about half an hour until my next class so I’m eating my lunch.  Last semester I went out to lunch – at least to the college’s cafeteria – every day.  I was also eating breakfast there most days.  I do not make New Year’s resolutions per se, but i do often decide to change things up with the passing of the year.  One thing this time was to stop spending so much money eating out.  So, here I am in my office eating my sandwich and drinking my soup.

Class schedules are also playing a role here.  I seem to be almost perfectly scheduled to conflict with the lunch times of my friends here at work.  It is funny how much more isolated I feel already this semester simply because of this.

Still, it is cheaper.

2 Responses to “Lunchtime”

  1. bridgett said

    When John was at Mississippi, there was a faculty brown bag club in the History Department. People would make “Lunch Dates” to sit at what amounted to a folding table and some hard chairs. He got to know a lot of senior faculty that
    way that he would have never talked to otherwise. Maybe you could start something similar around your
    campus — sort of an Oxfam-ish charity event where you’d bring your lunch every Wednesday and donate what you would have spent eating out to a local food bank? You’d get some company and you’d do some good in the world.

  2. Gerald said

    That is pretty cool. I’m going to bring this up with Faculty Senate and see if they want to sponsor this as an ongoing activity.

Leave a Reply

 
