Virtual Bourgeois

Just An Analog Guy Trying to Upgrade For a Digital World

Shaky

Posted by Gerald on March 2, 2008

While returning from a lunch date this afternoon I lost control of my car as I avoided another car on I-85.  I’m still not sure how this happened, given that I’m not a real speed demon and my tires and all are in great shape.  I know some times all it takes is the wrong angle on the wrong piece of asphalt, but still – that stuff is supposed to happen to someone else.  My best guess is that I’m still getting used to how much lighter this Camry is compared to every other car I’ve ever driven.  It doesn’t seem to slow much when I take my foot off the accelerator, which is what I did to no effect when the car started to fishtail.

Luckily the cars around me were mostly past by the time my fishtailing became a full-on skid.  There was a large break in the traffic which allowed me to get going again before anyone else came up.  I pulled over and checked, but there was no damage (there was never an impact, and everything else seems fine) so I drove home.  What I think has me feeling retroactively shaky is how easily this could have gone much worse.

I think it might be time for a glass of wine… or so.

4 Responses to “Shaky”

  1. Leslie said

    yikes!!!

    glad you’re OK, sorry the afternoon took such a scary turn.

  2. bridgett said

    Whoa. Good to hear that you’re fine.

  3. Gerald said

    Thanks to you both.

  4. Steve said

    Completely unrelated, but I didn’t want to a) forget this, or b) send it through campus mail: Wanted: Someone Who Knows Nothing About the Job

Leave a Reply

 
