Virtual Bourgeois

Just An Analog Guy Trying to Upgrade For a Digital World

Weekend

Posted by Gerald on July 7, 2008

I got quiet over the weekend because I was out through much of it.

Some of you might remember my posting from a year ago about a Memorial Day cookout and my traumatized dog.  The same friends hosted a July 4 bash this year.  I left the dog home this time, and a good thing too.  Lest me just say that you haven’t witnessed a private fireworks display until you’ve seen one put together by two little boys and their father, who commands an artillery battalion of the National Guard.  Grilled hot dogs, deafening fireworks, and Battlestar Galactica – that is what America is all about!

I went out again on Saturday to see my old college friends who I get together with on a regular basis.  They are currently fostering a small pug-and-other-stuff aptly named “Ming” (because he is merciless).  Neither my current dog nor my last one have been into standard canine pastimes like fetch or tug-of-war.  Not so Ming.  I worked up a real sweat playing both games with this hyper-active mutt.  It was fun.  If I had space or resources for a second dog I’d want to adopt this guy, but no can do.  Luckily he has found a home of appreciative folks with enough income to keep in in imperial splendor.

One Response to “Weekend”

  1. bridgett said

    Sounds fun. We painted a lot. One room nearly done, one more started.

Leave a comment