Virtual Bourgeois

Just An Analog Guy Trying to Upgrade For a Digital World

Geeky Triumph

Posted by Gerald on July 12, 2008

I spent the bulk of the day at work in a series of interviews.  I’ve been serving on a hiring committee for the last few weeks.  The interviews went fine, the only problem was that we had three of them in a row.  Each was ninety minutes, so I was at this with the others from 9 am to 1:30.  Luckily, I think we found a good candidate.

My geeky triumph came this evening.  I finally won a game of Civilization IV.  All together this game took 19 hours (the game keep track of that, but doesn’t tell you until you are done.)  I was also somewhat gratified that this was a “cultural” victory.  That means I had built my civilization’s art and literature to a point that was overwhelming others.

This weekend looks to be fun.  I’m planning to go to my favorite used book store to do some trading.  I’m going to visit friends tomorrow, and Sunday I’m hoping to go see “Mongol.”

Then next week I’ve got to pick a contractor to fix my roof.

Leave a Reply

 
