Virtual Bourgeois

Just An Analog Guy Trying to Upgrade For a Digital World

Hot and Stormy

Posted by Gerald on July 22, 2008

When I saw that the high for today was supposed to be in the upper 90s, I decided to just stay home and work from here (the blessings of an all-online course load this summer.)  Unfortunately by about 4 pm most of my house is in the upper 80s on days like this, even with the AC running.  There is this little bubble around the AC that is comfortable, but that is it.  Then we had a bunch of early evening thunderstorms that just sort of developed and then faded without really moving at all.

My roof needs work.  I’m not looking forward to spending the money, but I am looking forward to not worrying about whether it is raining or not outside.  In other household news, I finally got the deck fixed.  I was thinking about moving for awhile, but given how things are it just makes sense to me to fix what I have rather than going farther into debt.  We’ll see where things are in a couple years.

Hopefully this summertime funk will start to clear from my brain and I’ll have more interesting things to say later.

One Response to “Hot and Stormy”

  1. Steve said

    I won’t say that I love the rain. My mother does. Mandy does. But as a lifetime glasses wearer, I’ve always found rain to be a nuisance. Now, rainy days where I don’t actually have to be IN the rain? Those I like. Or did until I moved into a townhouse that was built by the devil. For the past four years, I’ve dreaded the rain. I see that little spot on the ceiling getting bigger and bigger– and the ulcer in my stomach gets bigger and bigger. But! We are going to get it fixed and then, then, I will be able to enjoy the rain!

Leave a Reply

 
