Virtual Bourgeois

Just An Analog Guy Trying to Upgrade For a Digital World

Archive for November 27th, 2008

Thanksgiving

Posted by Gerald on November 27, 2008

We’ll just take my usual anti-Thanksgiving tirades as read.

I’m thinking this year about all of the problems we have.  I recently read Viktor Frankl’s “Man’s Search for Meaning.”  One thing he wrote about is that he learned from his experiences in Auschwitz that suffering provides us with opportunities to find new meanings in our lives.  Here is my hope that we can find (or, I would argue, create) some better meanings in the face of the current suffering around us.

Let’s make our world into one where we focus on all the huge things that connect us rather than the minor things that separate us.

Let’s make our world into one where our first thought in bad times isn’t to hoard what we have for ourselves and our loved ones, but to try to make it so everyone can get more of what they need.

Let’s try to define our lives more by what we do and what we feel than what we consume.

As a nation, let’s try to get past this whole Jacksonian “the President is the embodiment of the people” thing that leaves us waiting for big daddy in the White House to come save us.  We ARE the damn people and it is up to us to make it happen every day, not just once every four years.

None of these ideas are original, but I think we could be thankful if they could be realized.

Thanks to all of my friends who read this.  I hope you have a good holiday.

Posted in Uncategorized | 1 Comment »