Virtual Bourgeois

Just An Analog Guy Trying to Upgrade For a Digital World

Reflections on my Boston Trip (June 2014)

Posted by Gerald on July 1, 2014

As I settle back into NC life, I’ve got a few things I’m taking away from this trip:

1) Park and Go is awesome. Seriously, if you are doing long-term parking at an airport, check this out and see if it is available. The shuttle picks you up from your car and returns you to it at the end of your trip; there is someone there to help if you have a dead battery, etc…; and it is cheaper (at least at Charlotte) – especially if you book and pay in advance.

2) I’ll never fly without an iPod again. Having Gillian Welch, Neko Case, John Vanderslice, and The Decemberists with me made wedging myself into those munchkin-sized coach seats and dealing with the crowds in airports far more tolerable.

3) Speaking of munchkin-sized coach seats, I’m in much better shape than the last time I flew up to Boston. I didn’t have the humiliation of asking for one of those extenders for the belts and my (still) fat ass actually fits in the seats (I’m still too tall for them, though). Also, I had no real problems spending two days doing lots of walking (except for some blisters). That said, I need to get back on my regular exercise schedule before I slip back much more.

4) I’m an irredeemable beer snob (no surprise there). The visceral sense of horror and rejection I experienced when listening to the guy at the Harpoon brewery extolling the virtues of their new cans (*shudder*) is hard for me to put into words. I’ve also come to like the smell of wort.

5) Speaking of beer, I experienced two rye beers during the trip and both were quite good. They have a sort of light and spicy flavor that goes well with warmer weather.

6) The weather was great. Even when it hit 90 on Monday, the humidity was nice and low (by the standards of the swampy south – the realities of which I think my hosts might have forgotten in their years in Beantown). This was driven home as I exited the plane in Charlotte and had to chew the air before breathing – and it really wasn’t that bad for a summer night in NC.

7) In terms of security checks, it is only slightly harder to get on a plane than to get on the USS Constitution. On a related note, had I been a sailor in the early modern era, I’d have died from terminal head trauma before any scurvy, etc…

8) I may be allergic to Paul Revere. I’m certainly allergic to his house.

9) There is a lot to be said for being in a major college town during warm weather.

10) Trips are good. I need to take more of them.

Leave a Reply

 
